UMass Boston and the FSU Negotiations Ground Rules 2023 -2026

The purpose of this bargaining is to achieve a comprehensive successor agreement to replace the July 1, 2020-June 30, 2023 collective bargaining agreement between the University of Massachusetts Boston ("University") and the Faculty Staff Union/MTA/NEA ("FSU") (collectively the "parties"). This agreement establishing ground rules shall extend for the period of the successor agreement effective July 1, 2023, as well as to the negotiations of any subsequent agreement that might become effective on or before June 30, 2026.

- 1. All tentative agreements are contingent upon ratification of an overall comprehensive agreement by the respective authorities of both parties.
- 2. The bargaining team for the University shall comprise Mickey Gallagher, Ebru Korbek-Erdogmus, Anita Miller, Rosanna DeMarco, and Stephanie Walker. The primary negotiator for the University shall be Mickey Gallagher. The bargaining team for the FSU shall comprise Jason Rodriquez (Chairperson), Caroline Coscia, Ellen Frank, Jessica Holden, Brian White, Lorenzo Nencioli, and Katie D'Urso. Silent Representatives consisting of up to 30 FSU members in good standing may also attend the parties' bargaining sessions. The FSU shall provide a list of those members participating as Silent Representatives by email no later than 24-hours prior to any bargaining session. During bargaining sessions, all Silent Representatives shall be silent. Both the FSU and Administration Bargaining Teams shall engage discussions seated at the bargaining table, with FSU Silent Representatives located in designated seating away from the table. No party engaged in, or in attendance of, bargaining sessions shall send electronic communications that relate to the substance or process of collective bargaining except amongst those present at the respective bargaining session.
- 3. Each party will take its own notes and the recording of bargaining sessions is prohibited absent the consent of both parties.
- 4. The sessions shall take place on campus in a suitable location mutually agreed upon by the parties or, by mutual agreement, on Zoom using a Webinar format, which shall be joined by both bargaining teams, who will be designated as panelists, and Silent Representatives, who will be designated as attendees. Both parties shall provide their own private caucus room for use before and during the sessions.
- The parties agree to commence successor negotiations as soon as possible. Article 38.2 of the current collective bargaining agreement shall be in full force and effect should the parties initiate future successor bargaining as referenced in Section 1 above.

6. Tentative agreements on specific provisions must be in writing and signed by both authorized parties. The authorized individual for the FSU is Jason Rodriguez; the authorized individual for the Administration is Mickey Gallagher. Tentative agreements on individual articles/provisions shall not be reopened unless the parties are unable to reach a comprehensive agreement or by mutual agreement.

For the FSU:

DocuSigned by:

Jason Kodriguez Jason Rodriquez, CBT Chairperson, Faculty Staff Union

For the University:

DocuSigned by:

Mickey Gallagher, Executive Director, Labor and Employee Relations

Date: ______

Date: _____5/23/2023